Our Executives


Ryozo Nagamune- Chair

UBC, Associate Professor

Dr. Ryozo Nagamune is an Associate Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, UBC.

He received Bachelor and Master degrees from Osaka University in Japan, and PhD degree from the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. After post-doc at Berkeley, he moved to UBC in 2006. His research interests are control theory and its engineering applications. He has been an IEEE Member for 16 years. Since 2008, Dr. Nagamune has been volunteering as the Chapter Chair of IEEE Vancouver Joint Chapter of Control Systems Society, Robotics and Automation Society, and Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society.

Email: nagamune@mech.ubc.ca

Tel: +1-604-827-4344


Pan Zhao- Vice Chair (CS)

UBC, PhD student

Pan Zhao is a Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering at the University of British Columbia. He received his B.Eng. degree in Automation in 2009 and M.Eng. degree in Mechatronic Engineering in 2012 from Beihang University in China. His main research focus is on switching linear-parameter-varying control and miniaturized optical image stabilizer. Pan has been volunteering for IEEE since 2015.


Carlo Menont- Vice Chair (RA)

SFU, Associate Professor

Carlo Menon (M’01) received a Laurea degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Padua, Italy, in 2001, and a Ph.D. degree from the same university in 2005. He was a Research Fellow at the European Space Agency, The Netherlands, in 2005 and 2006. In 2007 he joined the School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University (SFU), Canada, as an Assistant Professor and founded the Menrva Research Group (http://menrva.ensc.sfu.ca). Since 2012 he has been an Associate Professor within the same School. He has also been an Associate Member of the SFU School of Biomedical Physiology and Kinesiology since 2008. Dr. Menon received the International IAF Luigi G. Napolitano Award, Spain, in 2006, and the International BIONIS Award on Biomimetics, UK, in 2007. In 2012 he received both the Career Investigator Award from the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) and the New Investigator Award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). He has published more than 140 articles including both journal and conference papers. Dr. Menon is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Bionic Engineering.


Ljiljana Trajkovic- Vice Chair (SMC)

SFU, Professor

Ljiljana Trajkovic received the Dipl. Ing. degree from University of Pristina, Yugoslavia, in 1974, the M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering and computer engineering from Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY, in 1979 and 1981, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from University of California at Los Angeles, in 1986.

She is currently a Professor in the School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada. From 1995 to 1997, she was a National Science Foundation (NSF) Visiting Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences Department, University of California, Berkeley. She was a Research Scientist at Bell Communications Research, Morristown, NJ, from 1990 to 1997, and a Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, from 1988 to 1990. Her research interests include high-performance communication networks, control of communication systems, computer-aided circuit analysis and design, and theory of nonlinear circuits and dynamical systems.

Dr. Trajkovic serves as President-Elect (2013) and Vice President Publications of the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society (2012 - 2014 and 2010 - 2011) and served as Vice President Long-Range Planning and Finance (2008 - 2009) and as a Member at Large of its Board of Governors (2004 - 2006). She served as 2007 President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society. She was a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (2001 - 2003 and 2004 - 2005). She is Chair of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society joint Chapter of the Vancouver/Victoria Sections. She was Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Nonlinear Circuits and Systems (1998). She was Technical Program Co-Chair of ISCAS 2005 and served as Technical Program Chair and Vice General Co-Chair of ISCAS 2004. She served as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems (Part I) (2004 - 2005 and 1993 - 1995), the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems (Part II) (1999 - 2001 and 2002 - 2003), and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Magazine (2001 - 2003). She is a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (2010 - 2011 and 2002 - 2003) and a Fellow of the IEEE.


Ray Zhao- Web Designer

Ray has been volunttering with IEEE Vancouver Joint CS/RA/SMC Chapter since May 2013. He is in UBC Computer Engineering Program and He is pursuing a career in web technology and software development.


Po Liu- Web Designer

Po is a UBC graduate from the Dual Degree Program in Engineering and Arts. He holds a BA in Psychology and a BASc in Computer Engineering. Po currently works in the UBC Robotics and Control Lab under Dr. Purang Abolmaesumi conducting research in medical image processing.